Thrift Scores: Recent Finds

It’s been a while since I talked about my rainbow foil rooster and flea market greenery and I’ve acquired a few goodies recently, so I thought I’d round them up for you today. If you follow me on Instagram, you might have seen some of these scores already, and if you don’t, you can here and get the breaking news as it happens!

Pair of Albini Style Chairs
IMG_6517-5
This rattan chair was part of my kitchen reveal, but it was also one of my favorite finds this year! There are actually a pair of chairs, but it ended up that only one would fit in this corner of the sunroom, so I have the spare to find a place for elsewhere in the house. I was actively looking for rattan furniture when I spotted these goodies one Saturday morning. The only snag–they were in St. Louis, more than three hours away from where we live.

But my brother’s girlfriend is from the St. Louis area, and they visit pretty often, so on a whim I called him to see if he was going to be up there that weekend. Believe it or not, he was in the car driving AT THAT MOMENT. That’s when I started freaking out. I may or may not have been gesticulating wildly or yelling, “THEY WILL BE MINE,” I really can’t recall. In the end they had to drive an extra hour round trip to meet a stranger in a post office parking lot, but they did it because they are fine human specimens, and possibly they could hear the crazed intensity in my voice. In any case, public shout out to Dylan and Michelle! THANK YOU.

Vintage Basset Hound PaintingIMG_6564
I was thrifting by myself on Mother’s Day when I spotted this guy. I consider myself to have a pretty good eye, but sometimes my desire to find something is so strong that I’m not sure whether a thing is great or I just really want it to be great. This is why I like going with Justin–he always unemotionally sees garbage for what it is. So when I found this painting, I quickly snapped a pic and texted him, “Am I crazy, or is this awesome?” When he said he had been looking at it a few days earlier, I knew it was a go. I bought it for myself as a dog mother’s day gift. A dog painting is the perfect mother’s day gift for a dog mother, in case you were wondering.

Vintage Paint-by-Numbers
IMG_6652

I made the decision to buy this painting in about three seconds, which I NEVER do, but it was only $5, and after the dog I figured I might as well trust myself. I think it has about the best colors ever.

1959 Bissman Dining Set
IMG_6312

These three chairs are part of a dining set we bought at a yard sale that turned out to be a pretty lucky score. The set consisted of a mid-century drop-leaf table, two leaves, and these three chairs, all made by Bissman furniture, a company that manufactured furniture right here in Springfield primarily from the 40s-60s. Carl Bissman is not the best-known mid-century designer by far, but his furniture is still very valuable and collectible, probably because it’s insane quality. This particular set is solid walnut and was made in 1959.

Set of 4 Mid-century Dining ChairsIMG_6697

Since the dining table only came with three chairs, I was trying to collect another three to complete the set. I probably would have gone with three different chairs, but my preference was to find another set of three. I did one better when I found this set of four chairs at a yard sale last weekend. These were made in 1954. They don’t have a maker’s mark, but I’ve seen another set of this same chair before, so it seems like it was a relatively popular style.

All together, they are working out pretty well in the dining room. Now I’m on the look out for some fabric to reupholster them all to match.

IMG_6774

In the last dining room post, I talked about finding a wood dining table and about springing for the Ikea Maskros pendant, and now I can cross both off the list. I initially declined to get the pendant when we went to Ikea, but I had non-buyer’s remorse, and when some lovely friends went a few weeks later, they picked it up for me. So, shout out to Brett and Megan, too! It takes a village, you guys.

Tell me about your thrift scores! Find anything good lately?

4 thoughts on “Thrift Scores: Recent Finds

  1. your a dog mother…nice…I like the expression on that dog’s face… god you got chairs you liked thanks to bro in law and the other group of friends. Keep our home well then…

    Like

  2. Pingback: Dining Room Update | 2 | white dog vintage

Leave a Reply

