The Long-Lost Foyer Pics Finally Emerge

I was hoping to show some of the first floor progress this week, but instead of following through with the clean-up efforts I planned last weekend, I decided to start taking down the wallpaper in the sun room and just ended up adding a large, wet, papery mess to the mix. Justin keeps telling me that I need to focus, which I think means that he wants me to finish a thing before I start tearing apart the next thing, but it’s very difficult for me to operate that way. I love the beginnings of projects, when I’m so full of excitement to see WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN. I like finishing projects, too, but only after I have satisfied my curiosity about the other items on my to-do list. I’m the same way with food. If left to my own devices, I will sample a very small amount of everything in my kitchen, and then, if I’m still hungry, I’ll make an actual meal.

Understandably, not everyone prefers to live in this haphazard fashion. I’m sure it’s disconcerting to Justin when he notices that a portion of his wall has suddenly been torn off or spies a suspicious person with a screwdriver dislodging a floor tile. The moral of all this is–if attempting to renovate a home with a weirdo who is also your spouse or partner, be aware that their strange behaviors with only be amplified by the project, and make sure you like them enough to make up for it. So far I’ve been lucky.

Since there will be no first floor pictures this week, I’m bringing you the pictures of the entry way that I forgot when I initially posted the house tour last month.

IMG_5999

Do you see Pepper and Fatty trying to force their tiny faces through the doors? The are struggling to handle that I’m on the other side, and they are not. Of course, they could have easily just come on over–the doors aren’t heavy–but then self-sufficiency isn’t in the chihuahua’s nature.

IMG_6000

It’s a small space, but it’s got great features and the potential to make for a nice first impression. We still have a few updates on our list, though. Item one on the list is paint. The tree stencils aren’t bad, but they aren’t my thing. Plus, the tan tile, carpet, and walls aren’t giving me a whole lot of visual interest here.
IMG_6006

I will say, though, that whoever applied the stencil did a very neat and thorough job with great commitment to the project because the stencils go a l l  t h e  w a y to the ceiling, and which has to be close to 20 feet high. This means that someone will have to go way the hell up there to paint, and I regret to say that I have a fear of being more than 3 or 4 rungs up on a ladder, so it cannot be me.

Item two on the list is the flooring. The flooring isn’t totally offensive, but it is boring and kind of shoddily installed. We were planning to put down a more period appropriate tile, except get this–the ORIGINAL HARDWOODS are underneath! On the basement ceiling we can see that they are continuous from the dining room, so hopefully they haven’t been damaged too much by the sub-floor and are in good condition for refinishing. Needless to say, my urge to start tearing things out is uncommonly strong when I look at these tiles.  IMG_6001

Item three on the list has to do with the placement of the doors. This item has a question mark by it, because we’re still thinking it through. Right now the doors open into the foyer, but I think it would make more sense for them to be moved to the other side of the jamb and open into the dining room. For one, the open doors take up a lot of precious wall space in the foyer, and the dimensions and placement of potential furniture are limited by the arc of the door swing.

IMG_6002

For another, the open doors invisible from the main living area, so you never really get to enjoy how cool they are.

IMG_6003

I’m thinking, once that tub full of vinyl records moves on to its forever home, why not have the doors open there? Well, there are a couple reasons why not. One is that the doors would need clearance in this room the same as they would in the other, which mayyyybe could be an issue if we ever got a larger table. A second reason is that the door on the right would then open in front of the light switch, meaning that you’d either have to partially close the door every time you wanted to adjust the lighting or push the electrical through to the other side of the wall and have the light switch in the foyer.

The good news is that the doors could be moved at any time, so it’s probably not worth thinking about any more while the sun room wallpaper is still half hanging off. Personality tests always ask whether you are a big picture person or a details person. My question is–which are you if you see all the details of the big picture at once? If you are a psychologist and can help me understand what this means about my potential to succeed as a functioning adult, please let me know. And to everyone out there who’s made it for 923 words, happy Monday, and thanks for reading. 🙂

8 thoughts on “The Long-Lost Foyer Pics Finally Emerge

  1. Thanks for sharing your next project 😉

    I know what you mean about ‘chomping at the bit’ to get on the next thing. I have had to ‘train’ myself over the years. I just have a Grand Vision of what it ‘could’ be & don’t want to wait! But I have learned my tolerances for ‘less than perfect’ jump ahead of my ability to finish one thing before I start another. So in order to keep the chaos down to a minimum, I restrain (or re-train or re-strain, however you want to look at it. lol) myself to the task at hand, till it’s DONE. I have found people are more forgiving of One open project when they can see the results of finished ones. 😉

    Also when you get to it (Later lol), have you considered pocket doors for the french doors? You may need to hire someone to re-frame the wall, but they take up so little room that way. Just a thought…

    Like

    • Your comment cracked me up, but it sounds like great learned and EARNED wisdom. I know my husband would be very appreciative if I tackled one project at a time. I hadn’t really considered pocked doors, though that is a really cool idea, and it takes care of the “where do the doors go” question very neatly. Thanks for the thought!

      Like

  2. Happy Monday!! I’m so happy to see pictures of the entryway. I think that it really has a lot of potential to be a great space and introduction to the rest of your home. I’m with you on the tree stencils though. My first thought was “Oh, that’s … neat.” I mean really, it’s very different and as you said, well done, but it also seems a bit random and definitely doesn’t go with the vibe I think you’re going for in the rest of the house.

    The doors are beautiful! All the peculiarities of houses are so funny though. It definitely seems to be that it would make for sense for them to open up into the bigger room … but as you said, there’s a light switch dilemma. I think it would be very easy for me to get caught up in the little details like that, but it seems like you’ve got enough other stuff going on at the moment to keep you busy. 😉

    x Kathryn
    Through the Thicket

    Like

    • Yes, “neat” is so the right word! It’s kind of interesting because the house really was decorated very cute when the previous owner lived here, but it just wasn’t my style at all. Everybody’s taste is different, so I try not to put others’ style down…but I can still make Justin paint over it. 🙂

      And trust me, I am caught up in all the details all the time! It’s not really possible to fix every single thing, though, so I’m trying to learn to be more accepting of some oddities. It’s a work in progress. 🙂

      Like

  3. my husband will tell you, i loooooove starting a project and then i get over it real quick during, so he picks up the slack and finishes for me, and then i get all the credit!

    Like

    • What a genius strategy! There is pretty much always work for my husband during my projects, but I never get off the hook completely. I do take the credit, though! I earned part of it! 😉

      Like

  4. Pingback: Kitchen Update | 1 | One Room Challenge | white dog vintage

Leave a Reply

