Room Tour: TV Room

Before:

The second bedroom in our house, which we use as a TV room, started out as one of the strangest rooms I’ve ever been in. There were lime green and orange walls, a room divider/”art” installation with hanging metal panels (you may remember me complaining about the damage this did to our floors), a built-on desk, and a few other very special touches I was only too happy to tear out/paint over:

Before our reno. Lime green room with wood and metal room divider.

Before our redo. Lime green and orange walls.

Before our redo. Built on desk and shelving.

Intermediate:

We updated the bedroom when we first moved in by painting the walls, trim, crazy door, and removing the room divider. In short, we made it livable.

Mid point in the redo. Salmon walls and chevron rug.

IMG_2285

Broyhill Brasilia two door chest. Brasilia gentleman's chest.

The truth of the matter, though, is that I was never too crazy about what was going on in this room. It felt like a storage space for a lot of the furniture I didn’t like enough to put where people would see it. But since our one bathroom is a Jack-and-Jill accessible through this room, people did see it, whether I liked it or not.

Finally, I decided to paint. When I decided to paint, Justin suggested we go ahead and refinish the floors while we were at it. In the end, it turned into a totally new space (even though many of the furniture and decor items are the same or came from other places in the house). I’m just crazy for the finished product, so without further ado…

AFTER!!!!:

Cream walls, mid-century furniture, symmetrical mirrors.

Mid-century tufted bench, pink Kroehler chair, starburst mirror, pink, yellow, and blue Oriental rug.
Vintage wood frame couch – estate sale
Mid-century tufted bench – Vintage shop
Pink Mid-century Kroehler chair – Craigslist
Mid-century side table (at left) – family hand-me-down

Broyhill Brasilia two-door chest. Black leather couch with wooden frame.

Broyhill Brasilia two-door chest (gentleman's chest).
Broyhill Brasilia two-door chest – Craigslist

Broyhill Brasilia chest with colorful fringed runner.

Adrian Pearsall jacks side table
Adrian Pearsall jacks side table – flea market

Mid century serving tray.
Vintage serving tray – Yard sale

I didn’t intend for it to become the inspiration for this room, but coincidentally it now matches perfectly.

Pink, yellow, and blue vintage Oriental rug
Vintage Oriental rug – Yard sale

This is the other item that really ties the room together. I already had the pink Kroehler chair, but I was planning to reupholster it down the line. Then this rug walked into my life, and together they are just perfection.

Vintage Oriental/Persian rug.

Hope you like the transformation as much as I do! I had tons of fun putting this room together, and I think it shows.

7 thoughts on “Room Tour: TV Room

  1. Pingback: The Doors They Are A-Changin’ | white dog vintage

  2. Pingback: Upholstered! Mid-century Loveseat | white dog vintage

  3. oh yes I can’t recognize the old room green one with metal panels after this transformation. Its well furnished, nicely painted. Your changed the look of this room twice is it, one with dark paint color and then later made it to light paint colour and installed sun mirror there as well, like that mirror, well highlighted with the lamps.

    Like

    • Thanks so much, Maria! Yes, the darker paint color only lasted about a year. I liked the color, but it was kind of a dark room, and the salmon just didn’t exactly work for it. I like the sunburst mirror as well–my husband actually found that on clearance at Kohl’s!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Guest Room Update: Paint Reveal! | white dog vintage

Leave a Reply

